Words & Music

by monicadockery

The Haunting

I guess it’s the time of year for a good haunting. I wrote this song–the haunting a while back when I had just returned from a trip to the mountains. If anyone knows me, they know I have a strange fascination with trees. I absolutely love them. In my eyes, they are gentle giants that beckon us every day to live life to the fullest. We think we will be here forever, but we won’t. Just like those trees that look so strong–that have been here (some of them) for longer than we have — they, too, will die one day, like those that came before them. We mourn for the loss of life, but we should mourn even more for the lives that are not being lived.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

