Words & Music

by monicadockery

SOPA

I am proud to say that Words & Music was part of the protest against SOPA/PIPA today.  I cannot stress enough the importance of taking whatever action we can to get the message to our leaders that censorship of the internet is one of the most egregious infringements on our rights as citizens of the United States of America.  If we cannot keep the internet 100% free of such chains, our freedom to know — our access to knowledge — will be placed at great risk.

Although the blackout is over on this blog for now, the “Stop Censorship” ribbon at the top of the page will remain.  Please, if you have not already, read up on the information available to you by clicking on that ribbon.  There are ways everyone can participate in stopping such legislation from getting through.
As for the songs….I will be doing a back-to-back posting, one on Thursday and one on Friday.  I have to admit, I am a little scared that the songs that I have been writing are becoming more and more personal….too close maybe.  It leaves me in quite a vulnerable position to share such layers of me, but I cannot let fear be the reason I refrain from doing so.  So, a major part of me doing this–writing, sharing these songs–is a sort of challenge to myself….to be brave enough to say, “this is me” and be willing to face the consequences (good or bad) of being that open.

I know this photo is a little tasteless…but, so are the people who are filling the pockets of politicians to get such legislation passed….plus, it made me laugh.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “SOPA

  1. I couldn’t agree more. First we found out that Google was copying peoples hardrives and then that Facebook is using facial recognition to identify its clients and their friends. Now they want us to use cloud computing so that our information is entirely in corporate hands. Open source is the only way to go.

Leave a Reply

