Words & Music

by monicadockery

Janet Jackson’s “Again” (Acoustic Cover)


Good Wednesday to you!! It is finally SPRING!!!!!! I love it! The sun makes me smile. Anyway, this week I wanted to try out the recording feature on SoundCloud where you can record on your I-Phone or I-Pad and it posts directly to your soundcloud page. The song I chose to test it out with was Janet Jackson’s song “Again” —- one of my absolute all time favorites because of the vulnerability and the tenderness of the song.

Besides the fact that I love Janet and the song, I also just wanted so badly to learn how to play it on the guitar. It has a few chords, but the pattern of the chords keep changing and figuring the strumming pattern, for me at least, was a challenge. Actually, it still is a challenge because I have a lot of work to do before I can be happy with my playing. But, I got the bare bones of the song down and the way I wanted to play it enough for a rough draft.

I was REALLY hesitant to share it on SoundCloud and on here, but I thought I’d just do it because it is…well…honest. It IS where I am right now, at this moment, in terms of musicianship and acquiring a new skill. We aren’t supposed to be perfect from the moment we pick up an instrument. It takes time, years and years of practice. So, I am posting this….rough as it is….in hopes that when I look back in a few years and give it another listen, I will remember what it was like when I first began this venture and I hope I will be proud at how far I have come since. I hope the same for any new ventures you may be embarking upon or are thinking about beginning. It may seem daunting, the steps that must be taken, the effort and energy required, but if it is something that you truly have a desire for, do not let it deter you. Cheers, kudos, high fives to all of you who are brave enough to pursue your desires despite the challenge, despite how silly they may seem to others, despite whatever. Thank you for keeping up with me and checking in and for the kind words. I am so thankful to have a way to share my heart with people. Here’s another piece of it…

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Janet Jackson’s “Again” (Acoustic Cover)

  1. I’ve not heard the original but I really liked this song. It was sung from the heart and I believed the story – it almost felt so personal that I was being somewhat invasive as an audience. I also have a great love of songs that are sung stand alone. I have a list of favourites in this vane. Jimi Hendrix when he sings ‘Hear My Train A’Comin’ and Christine McVie acompanying herself for ‘Songbird’ being just two. Personally I struggle with singing and for you it just seems natural. The recording worked fine.

    • Thank you. This version is actually quite different, I think, from the original. Much slower due to my slow fingers;). I am familiar with Jimi Hendrix’s song — absolutely heartbreaking! but I have not heard Christine McVie’s. I will definitely check it out and get back to you on my thoughts!

      • Janis Joplin’s 18 Essential Songs contains the original demo of Me And Bobby McGee – just Janis and her guitar. It also contains a terrific track Trouble In Mind; Janis singing and Jorma Kaukonen on guitar.

Leave a Reply

