Words & Music

by monicadockery

Whispers in my Dreams

Hellooo! It’s been a bit longer than I wanted it to be since my last post. Today is the 4th of July, so let me first wish all my fellow Americans a Happy 4th to you all. I spent the day with my son at Disneyland and then came home to watch the fireworks around the city from our loft. We’re high enough up that we could see them all going at the same time, which was pretty great. Hope you all spent the holiday well too…what did you do?

As for this week’s song, it’s actually coming a little late. I finished working on it with a guy from Manchester in the UK, who goes by the title “The Subversive” (see his page at http://soundcloud.com/the-subversive) last week. He considers himself to be more of a producer than a singer and has just gotten back into music after a several years of being away from it–something we have in common. He had sent me a link to the YouTube video that he put together for the song. He used it as a sort of soundtrack to the movie “Lovely Bones”. He liked the visual images from that movie and felt the track went well with them. I have never actually seen the movie itself, but was able to get a good enough idea of what it might have been about from watching the scenes he chose for his video. So, I used the idea I had from the scenes and the mood of the track to write the lyrics.

I usually try to see what the person who made the track had in mind when they made it when doing collaborations for two reasons. 1) It was their track, so I think a writer should respect the original intent of the person who created it. 2) It is good to get another’s perspective. They might see something or hear something in the track that you don’t or they might help give you a place to start…a jumping off point, if you will.

Apart from this week’s songs, I’m working on a few more at the moment (I guess that’s a given by now right?:)). Two collaborations and both are hip hop/ rap songs where I’m doing a “hook” (short chorus) and the “breakdown” (where the song kind of climaxes). It may seem out of character for those who don’t know me, but for those who do, they know I looooove hip hop. It has changed a lot, been watered down in places, but there are still some real poets out there! So, be on the lookout for those. Ok, enough ….here’s this week’s song. It is called “Whispers in my Dreams” (the title was The Subversive’s title for his video on YouTube and I thought it fit, so we kept it).
Here’s the link…
http://soundcloud.com/monicadockery/whispers-in-my-dreams-2nd

Here’s the lyrics:
Laugh
Cry
First we crash, then we fly
Live, then die
When it’s time, then it’s time
Some may say a prayer, hold on tight
Others make a point to live their life
Smile, and sigh
Because we only have a little while
So make your dreams into something real
Something you can feel

Sing, dance
Make it good, here’s your chance
Time will pass
If you can, make it last
Let your heart be free, open up
Don’t let fear keep you from love
Give it all
And don’t think about how you might fall
Cause our time on Earth is over soon
It’s over much too soon

Laugh, cry, smile, sigh
Love, fly, live your life

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

