Words & Music

by monicadockery

Into the Deep…….

Hellooooooo!  I have been very focused on getting the Day4Women album and event organized, but I am still trying to find time for making music!  So, this week, instead of doing a real…polished…recording, I decided to go Lo-fi and record a rough sketch for a song I’ve been working on.  I’ve had it written for a while, but have been trying to figure out arrangement/music.  I wrote this one day when I was sitting at my favorite beach – Crystal Cove – and I was starring at the waves coming over the shore.  I thought, “wow, I wonder what stories the ocean must have hidden inside of it…so much history in there.”  And, this week’s song is the result of that moment at the beach.  Here is  the rough cut of “Into the Deep”, hope you enjoy it!

Here are the lyrics:

What are the secrets buried in your deep?
stories of men great and small, you, a blanket over all
covering the fools of old
who lived and died searching for gold
they lived and died for gold
so crash over the shore
and pull it into your….deep

Even if we dig the treasures you keep
we are too deaf and much too blind to see
the lessons still won’t stay stuck
to our collective memory
so crash over the shore
pull it into your
crash over the shore
and pull it into your..

Into the deep – wash away
into the deep – wash away
into the deep – wash away
into the deep, into the deep

One day when it is time
I will be yours and you will be mine
and I will take my place in your deep
inside the history that in you sleeps
I’ll be the history that in you sleeps

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Into the Deep…….

  1. sounds good and haunting kinda 🙂

Leave a Reply

